Great Mell Fell

Great Mell Fell

This is Great Mell Fell, as seen from the northern flank of Gowbarrow Fell. It’s not exactly a mountainous fell, and it sits out on it’s own, aloof and apart from the main body of the eastern Lakeland fells. It doesn’t have a good reputation amongst walkers too, from what I hear. I walked up the fell on an overcast, windy day, with rain in the air, a day that did nothing to dispel that sentiment. The only route, due to access issues, is up through the trees on the lower slopes to the right and across to the summit. On the summit I was in low cloud, so I did not have much of a view.  But I was out walking – and that was all that matters. I’m sure that, on a fine sunny day, the short walk up Great Mell Fell is a delight. A misunderstood fell perhaps.

100th post! Milestone!

