A different viewpoint

Viewpoint

I read an article in a photography magazine about photographing familiar objects from a different viewpoint. I thought I’d try it out on an old threshing machine that had been standing in a field for many years, however it’s not as straightforward as it seemed. Don’t get me wrong – it’s not difficult – it’s just that the magazine left out a vital piece of information.

Lying on my back and shooting upwards, I was able to get the machine with a nice sky on the background, and this low viewpoint makes the tines on the thresher look rather more sinister than they would look from above.

And that vital piece of information? If you ever lie down in a sheepfield to take photographs, *do* take the time to check for sheep poo first. Lesson learned!

