Ants Eye View

Ants Eye View

Now this one is harder than it looks, although it’s more of a technical limitation. I have had this shot in mind for a while now, and I had been keeping my eyes open for a suitable subject. This small cluster of daffodils on a grassy bank looked ideal. The difficulty is in the composition. As the camera had to be so close to the ground, I could not use the viewfinder. The strong sunlight rendered Live View unusable. A camera with a variable angle view screen would have helped, or one of those 90 degree viewfinder gizmos, which would have allowed me to set up and get the composition I would have liked. This was a little trial and error – mostly error! Still – lessons learned – I’ll refine the technique and try again. If anyone sees a strange man with a Nikon spread out on the ground next to some flowers – I’m not mad. Allegedly.

