Chesterton Windmill

Chesterton Windmill

Very accessible, and often photographed, I turned up early at Chesterton Windmill because the weather forecast looked promising, with a few clouds likely. I wasn’t the only one – it turned into an ad-hoc photographers get-together, swapping stories and locations while we took photographs of the windmill.

The promised cloud did not materialise, although I found out that the windmill is lit up at night – noted for future reference.

Bizarrely, whilst it started off cold, even though it was just before dawn, it wasn’t freezing. However it got colder later on, just as the sun rose above the horizon. This had the strange effect of allowing moisture to form on my filters, which then turned to frost – I ended up having to defrost them (very gently) with a microfibre cloth. Weather eh?

Photography stuff: 12-24mm lens at 12mm, 10 seconds at f/9.0, tripod.

