Smiley In the Sky

(click the image for a larger version)

(click the image for a larger version)

I managed to capture the eclipse yesterday morning, by the simple measure of setting my camera up on a tripod, adding a 10 stop ND filter, 200mm lens, and then setting the camera to take an exposure every 20 seconds. At one point the sun looked like a big smiley in the sky.

It *did* get very dark at one stage – I was wondering if the street lights were going to come on. You can imagine how frightening this phenomena would be to those in earlier, more superstitious times.

Photography stuff: 70-200mm lens at 200mm, 1/50 sec at f/2.8, 10 stop ND filter, tripod, timelapse setting to take an image every 20 seconds.

I also created a short timelapse movie – it’s not very good but I learned a lot. The exposure changes dramatically during the course of an eclipse, so a manual exposure setting was a bad idea. I ended up using Aperture priority, and adding an exposure compensation of +2.7 stops to prevent the highlights blowing out. Still – there has to be a better way. Unfortunately I cannot upload the movie as I do not have a Premium account. Never mind.

