Llanthony Night

(click the image for a larger version)

(click the image for a larger version)

Night photography and a few lessons learned. The Black Mountains has Dark Sky status, but you have to be careful when you plan your shoot. A dark sky is all very well, but a full moon can make a huge difference. In the image above you can clearly see the hills surrounding the ruin, lit up by the full moon. Not bad, considering this image was shot at almost midnight.To be fair, I knew about the moon, but this was the only opportunity I had to visit the site at night. I was out taking photos so it wasn’t a complete loss. The next time I plan a visit, I’ll make absolutely sure there’s no moon – it should bring out the stars.

Another hint – you’ll be using high ISO, so be prepared to apply noise reduction in post processing – it’s absolutely essential.

Photography stuff: 12-24mm lens at 12mm, ISO800, 20 seconds at f/4.0, tripod, timer release.

