Sunset at Kinwarton

(click the image for a larger version)

(click the image for a larger version)

On my way back from Stratford-Upon-Avon, I reached Kinwarton just after sunset, so I decided to drop in on the dovecote and take a few images. The friendly cattle were still there – a little larger but completely unconcerned by my presence. The horse in the field was more inquisitive!

I’m not sure about the overhead electricity cables running so close to the dovecote. To my eye, they are so out of place, and I’d exclude them if I could. Nevertheless – they are there so I’ll use them to draw the eye in.

I’ve picked up the very good habit of exposing for the highlights – these days you can pull out a huge amount of shadow detail with the combination of modern cameras and huge raw images of today. A little bit of work in Lightroom was all it took. Nevertheless, I always take a few bracketed images if I think the highlights and shadows are too far apart. No harm in a safety net.

Photography stuff: 12-24mm lens at 12mm, 1/15 sec at f/9.0, tripod, remote release.

(Until I looked at the image in detail, I hadn’t noticed the bulge in the left hand wall of the dovecote. I’ll check on it the next time I’m there)

