Peak District at Night

(click the image for a larger version)

(click the image for a larger version)

Stand on the top of Higger Tor at night, and there’s a lot more light around than you would think. In a long exposure image, the roads are clearly visible. Also visible is the light pollution from various towns and cities. The light pollution on the far left is, I believe, Chesterfield.

An 8 minute exposure and a low ISO (100) meant that a tripod was essential, and I was able to pull a lot of shadow detail from the raw file (at the expense of adding a lot of noise though). The rocks in the foreground were lit by my head torch. In truth, this late after sunset, and I could hardly see Carl Wark hillfort (which is in the centre of the image) from where I was standing – it was that dark.

It was quite exposed on the tops, and the wind was fierce. Even with my heavy camera bag as ballast, my tripod was moving all over the place. In order to take this image, I had to shelter the camera in the lee of some rocks.

Warm flask of tea was essential under these circumstances.

Photography stuff: 18-70mm lens at 18mm, 8 minutes at f/11, tripod, timer release

