Stars By The Lake

© Gerard Tohill 2015

With the promise of  a cloud free early morning, I set out before dawn to see if I could get some photographs of the stars and the lake.

It’s not an ideal location for astrophotography, with the town so close, but there were stars to be seen. The viewpoint is looking east, and of course, that very bright light at the top is not a star – it’s Venus.

The lights over the footpath behind me, casting a warm light on the foreground, presented an interesting challenge – what do I do about my white balance? It was clearly best to get the sky as accurate as possible, and leave the foreground as-is. I think it looks better that way.

Photography stuff: 12-24mm lens at 12mm, 20 seconds at f/4.0, ISO 800 (shows how much ambient light there was from the surrounding houses – in a completely dark area I’d be using ISO 1600 or higher), tripod, remote release.

