Tower and Shed

© Gerard Tohill 2016

I’ve started carrying around a flash in my rucksack. There have been times when I’ve wanted at add a little selective light to an image – a pre-dawn visit to Broadway Tower allowed me to experiment. I know the location well, and I wanted to set up a little light emanating from the shed in the foreground – as if there was somebody inside.

Apart from my normal post-processing, all I had to do was add a little warmth to the patch of light by using a radial filter in Lightroom and increasing the colour temperature a little.

For the future, I have more ideas at other locations. On a misty morning, I’m sure I can get really creative.

I cannot remember what setting I had on the flash – I think it was half power, with a white handkerchief (clean, if you must know!) held loosely in place over the flash with a couple of rubber bands, in order to diffuse the light sufficiently.

Photography stuff: 12-24mm lens at 24mm, half a second at f/9.0, tripod, flash inside the shed – triggered wirelessly from the camera.

