Lakeside Morning

© Gerard Tohill 2016

Lakeside, very early on a Sunday morning, with abundant wildfowl keeping me company. The mother goose in the foreground on the right was particularly wary as her chicks were close by.

I remembered to bring some bread this time, and I opted to feed the Canada Geese as I had inadvertently disturbed them as I wandered around. Curiously, the adult geese held back to let the young geese grab the bread – behaviour I hadn’t seen before. As I fed them, they looked to me, for all the world like dinosaurs – little fluffy cute dinosaurs, but dinosaurs nonetheless 🙂

Photography stuff: 18-70mm lens at 18mm, 1/50 sec at f/11, ISO 400 (to give me a fast enough shutter speed to keep the wildlife in focus), 3 stop graduated hard ND filter to hold back the sky, tripod.

